Eon8: a conclusão

Tal como eu previa, isto não era nenhuma mensagem do armagedão nem do inicio da III guerra mundial…
Fui tudo obra de um rapazito de 23 anos (não fui eu, juro) da Florida.
Aqui fica o que aparece no link do site:
{eon8} Complete
As of July 1st, 2006, the E8 Project has completed.
The purpose of this project was to determine the reactions of the internet public to lack of information.History
The domain eon8.com was chosen, as it is short, easily remembered, and eon9 was already registered.
It was originally posted on www.msfn.org, but was promptly removed as ’spam’. It was enough time for it to be copied to other forums throughout December 2005.Results
We were amazed to discover that the site was instantly linked with terrorism, simply for the fact that it seems mysterious. Evil was the number one first impression people had of the site, in spite of the fact that there are no threats on the site. The only thing Eon 8 says is “We don’t want you here”. Nothing else.
Other less disappointing opinions were social experimentation (which was correct), James Bond movie viral marketing, and promotions for video games.
For many people, being faced with a countdown timer was an instant reason to try to shut down or hack the site. This is a worrying reaction, that if someone doesn’t understand something they must destroy it. As a result, the servers have been hit quite hard these last few days, but luckily 99% of the ‘hackers’ could easily be described as ‘l4me n00bs’.
Another worrying example of paranoia was how quickly people would jump to conclusions, such as telephoning the registered owner of a dog seen in a photograph on a server that hosts a page that links to eon8.Surprises
The folks at Unfiction.com were the most resourceful and inventive, they successfully managed to decrypt several of the ‘codes’ on the site, forcing them to be re-encrypted using more secure methods.
FAQ
What about eon5.com?
Nothing to do with us. Pure coincidence, but worked in our favor.What about the 8th eon being the end of the world?
We picked Eon 8 because Eon 9 was already taken. We didn’t know about the significance of this. Eon is a cool sounding word!Why July 1st?
We didn’t know how long it would take to get the word out using our subtle promotion methods. We allowed over 6 months.What do the codes on the site mean?
They’re mostly randomly generated integers encrypted with md5, but with certain letters removed and replaced. The Logs page is simply based on the current timestamp, encrypted and modified. You can’t decrypt them, they really are random numbers.What is the Deployment Map?
They’re dots placed over major cities and several random locations, it was done mostly from memory. The random gif filename is an added touch to force a slight delay on loading, which looks more impressive in Internet Explorer, but not as much in Firefox.What’s the password?
There isn’t one. If you did somehow manage to get in, you’d see an empty folder with a single text file that says “This is a decoy folder. Please connect to the internal secure network”.Can I see your website statistics?
Yes, click here.Are you anything to do with Scientology?
Did you see anything talking about a Free Personality Test or Xenu? Use your brain.Who are you, really?
The most I can tell you is I am a 23 year old web designer from Florida named Mike. I can’t narrow it down anymore than that. When I say ‘we’, I really mean ‘me’.Conclusions
People take things too seriously and panic over the most trivial things. But at the same time there are many people out there who think things through without jumping to conclusions. You can’t let pointless speculation rule your lives and force you to live in fear.
In Closing
Thanks to everyone who kept things interesting, especially to the folks at unfiction. Sorry there is no ARG for you to play, but at least you had fun while it lasted.
Click here for one Final Message from Eon 8
BE HAPPY
THE END
Sincerely, x21bHappy birthday, mtcaptain. From ‘ls224′ (aka x21b). Yes that really was me in the #eon-8 channel
Updates @ Eon8

Cada vez mais próximos da hora Zero e não param de chover boatos, hoaxes e fakes.
http://unfunnytruthabouteon8.ytmnd.com
http://eon8hackeduserscreen.ytmnd.com
http://eon8ends.ytmnd.com
http://eon5.com
Entretanto falta menos de uma hora pra se saber o que é…
Eu aposto numa manobra de marketing para promover o mediatismo e o suspense em volta de um qualquer novo produto.
Lançado finalmente o “iPod killer”
Plo titulo poderiam pensar que é de uma empresa como a Creative… A Microsoft… Não, estão errados.
O verdadeiro iPod killer vem das mãos da Napster. Sim, essa mesmo. Lembram-se dela?
O leitor tem 1GB de memoria, é minusculo como pode ser visto nas fotos, é compativel com os principais formatos audio, toca videos mpeg4, passa as nossas fotos em formato JPEG, tem rádio FM, e o melhor de tudo: custa apenas 50$ USD :O
Tem um preço muito bom, e vai ser por aí que vai pegar porque o iPod nano de 1GB custa 3x mais! (150€)
E digam lá que não é bonitinho…
Acho que vou encomendar um bicho destes ainda esta semana mal tenha dinheiro no banco
Eon8?

Que porra é esta do Eon8 que anda a escandalizar tanta gente?
Será que se eu fizer uma webpage preta com um globo branco e um countdown também me vão chamar cyber-terrorista ou hacker? CREDO, CRESÇAM!
Na Internet não se pode acreditar em quase nada sem ter provas primeiro!
Se quiserem ser teimosos e dar credibilidade ao site, então tomem lá alguns links que (vocês) vão achar interessantes.
http://www.eon8.com/ <– Site principal
http://www.eon8.com/security <– Página secreta (lol) com os ip’s que acederam ao site (podem-se ver alguns ip’s militares e governamentais)
http://eon8theinvestigation.ytmnd.com/ <– Página dos mesmos autores do Eon8, quase certamente.
http://eon8whatthehellisit.blogspot.com/ <– Blog dos mesmos autores do Eon8, com toda a certeza, pois descobrem coisas interessantes mas depois não resolvem nada e incitam-nos a fazê-lo por eles.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eon8 <– Página na wikipedia acerca do Eon8. Como a wikipedia é aberta ao publico, é mais que possivel que o que lá está escrito, tenha sido posto pelos autores do site.
Primeiras imagens do OSX.5
Estas são as primeiras imagens publicas do OSX.5 (10.5.0).
Foram lançadas por um user via FlikR, o que deixa do ar a possibilidade de serem fake.
Anyway, já há um video mas curiosamente com algumas diferenças em relação a estas imagens. Pode ser descarregado aqui.
-
Arquivos
- Novembro 2008 (11)
- Outubro 2008 (3)
- Setembro 2008 (3)
- Junho 2008 (1)
- Maio 2008 (1)
- Março 2008 (3)
- Novembro 2007 (2)
- Outubro 2007 (2)
- Setembro 2007 (2)
- Agosto 2007 (3)
- Julho 2007 (3)
- Junho 2007 (2)
-
Categorias
-
RSS
RSS das Entradas
RSS dos Comentários
















